“The Measure of All Things” by Ken Alder

My dear brother Ryan loaned me a copy of Ken Alder’s “The Measure of All Things” some time ago and I began reading it right away.  My reading went slowly and I found myself in the habit of only picking it up on trips on the Metropolitan Area Transit (MAX) to down town Portland for a walk or a friendly game of chess at Pioneer Square.  I finally finished this past Sunday, great book I’d say and it gave my weekly trips a special character that I will miss.  I’ll spoil it for you by saying that Ken concludes in agreement with Protagoras that “Man is the measure of all things”.  What a shame that God should have instigated such a crooked ruler as Man.  Perhaps I will begin “A Fine Balance” another book gifted me by Ryan.  My dearest youngest daughter finished that after noticing my reading of it had been halted and recommends it.  Well I finish and get this posted.  Really want the world to know I really did finish even if it was done one, two or three pages at a time. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

